Rookie Crew Member

Talon AtwellThis bandsman I’ve come to know this semester.  No need to interview this man because he is on my crew – Talon Atwell.  Let me tell you a bit about him.  He has come to join the band during his senior year with no prior music experience; however, he brings with him an incredible background.  During middle school and high school he battled cancer and won.  Currently, he is in Air Force ROTC and plans to commission as a weather officer.  Even though he has been a part of the band for a few months, he says the band, the crew, and myself are like family.  What do the band and I mean to you?


9 responses to “Rookie Crew Member

  • Erin Coffey

    The band has provided me with a family. I had no reason to fear the dining courts or the big campus starting my first day of campus, because I already had a large group of friends to ease the transition. I also feel that the band has filled me with a greater sense of Purdue pride than I would have if I weren’t in the band.
    And as far as what the BBD means to me, it’s a symbol of the band and university I love, and I know it’ll be noticed on the streets of New York.

    • Allison Snorek

      I totally agree with the having a sense of family being a member in the band. It is very difficult to understand how much we truly mean to each other. It is nice to know that you can be having a terrible day or not understanding your classes and at least a few someones in the huge band family will notice and help you out.

      I can’t imagine the Purdue Band without the BBD. I grew up near this amazing university and remember seeing the BBD for the first time. To me the BBD signifies tradition and pride.

  • Talon Atwell

    Thanks taking the time to talk me the other day.

  • Kyle Scherer

    Without the band I would be lost. Coming onto campus as a freshman I was so nervous and all the people in my section were so nice to me and very helpful with all the questions i had. Band is my family. Im am so close with some awesome people that I met through band, and im very thankful for that. The BBD is a tradition of Purdue. I’m sure the streets of NYC have never witnessed anything like it. It is for sure going to turn some heads!

  • Jenna Lewis

    This is a really neat story! The band definitely provides not only a strong social network but truly a family for so many students. I must admit, during Band Camp when the staff mentioned several times that “the band made campus smaller” I had no idea what they were talking about. But, when the first day of classes came around I was incredibly grateful for the tight nit band community of which I am so honored to be a member of.

  • Alex Goldman

    I never expected that I’d meet so many new people, learn so much, and make so many friends in such a short period of time. As someone who had never marched before coming to Purdue, the student leaders and other members of the band were extremely comforting and understanding of my situation and gave me a chance to prove myself. Oh and hearing the BBD for the first time definitely caught my attention, and it’s a thrill to watch others witness its power. It’s an absolutely amazing experience and New York is gonna be awesome!

  • Craig Fread

    We are all so excited for you and the rest of the band. We’re a big band family. My sister, brother, and son have all marched in the AAMB. Our father was a successful Band Director in Indiana and has a lot of connections to the Purdue Band.

    There is no mistaking the sound of the Purdue Band coming down the street or taking the field. We all still get to the games early and “march” pregame from our seats along with the rest of you on the field. You make us proud.

    I marched right guide in Rank 24 during the 70’s. Everyday to drill and back the BBD followed us out and back. In prep for the 500 my sophomore year, the BBD crew was searching for a 2nd hitter so I stepped up. I still remember the crowds cheering every time I hit you during the parade at at the track. What great memories of my days at Purdue and with the Band “family”. Thanks Band!

    We wish all of you the best and can’t wait to see you represent Purdue University on Thanksgiving morning. Boiler Up!

  • узнать здесь

    Помимо этого, Шойгу предположил,
    что Соединенные Штаты могут развернуть запрещавшиеся
    ДРСМД средства в Европе и Азиатско-Тихоокеанском регионе, а это, в свою очередь, спровоцирует рост напряженности,
    а государства, которые согласятся на размещение ракет
    средней и меньшей дальности на своей территории,
    станут заложниками политики Вашингтона.
    Министр подчеркнул, что Москва против такого сценария.

Leave a comment